Winter Fashion Inspiration

The colder weather is finally setting in, and with it has come a longing for cute winter clothes. My typical cold-weather uniform is a big hoodie and jeans, but sometimes you just need to sigh over nice outfits on Pinterest. Luckily it doesn’t snow where I am, but it does on top of the nearby mountains which means it can get pretty cold. Just like in Autumn, I’ve picked some adorable winter outfits to inspire me to dress up for the cold season!

Another great way to style for winter is to pair beiges and creams with eye-catching materials, like leather pants. I love this for an understated daytime look, and you can easily dress it up a bit more by switching to boots and adding a statement necklace.

I mentioned in my last fashion post how much I love faux fur, and it’s perfect for winter. Most fur-type clothing has good lining and is great at keeping you warm. It’s also a good statement, so you don’t need to go overboard with your other pieces. I always try to stick with one dressy item and keep the rest of my outfit simple and classic.

I love the pop of color in the beanie for this outfit. Color is especially important in winter to stop the greys from overpowering and making everything look dull. My other favorite part about this is the ankle booties. Wet socks are one of the worst things that can happen in winter, not just because they feel gross! So simple black booties can protect your feet as well as look good.

Tall boots are also amazing in winter! They help keep your shins from freezing, and they look super adorable. Layers are another important thing. Being able to remove a layer when going inside, and add a layer when going outside, can keep you comfortable at any temperature. The added bonus here is that when adding or removing a layer, it’s like creating a whole new outfit!

Remember when I said pop of color? A gorgeous bright coat like this can brighten anyones day! I recommend getting one with a hood attached for the windier days when an umbrella isn’t an option. Katie has paired this jacket with a roll-neck jumper, which I think is super adorable – and practical for keeping your neck warm, too!

I would only wear open heels like this if it was a warmer winter day, or I wasn’t going to be outside much. My feet get cold very easily! I love the way this outfit pairs together soft blush and cream shades with the more striking black and burgundy. It’s a great feminine outfit, but without being too sweet for winter! (PS: if anyone knows the source of this image, can you let me know? I’d love to give proper credit!)

If you didn’t already know, I live in a small farming town. If you drive five minutes out of town, you’re literally driving past wide open fields full of sheep, cows, and horses. Gumboots are an essential part of life here in New Zealand, and I adore Hunter boots. They add a bit of style, meaning that as long as they’re clean, you can wear them around like real shoes. I also love the addition of leather gloves, for a simple touch of fanciness.

You’ll probably notice that this girl was in an earlier picture, and for good reason! Allyssa Griffiths is definitely my favorite fashion blogger. Her style is always sophisticated and feminine, and never boring. I love this whole outfit, combining ankle booties with a warm fluffy jumper and a quilted leather skirt! You can wear it for work or for seeing friends, and it would easily transition from day to night as well.


If you’re interested in what I’m currently coveting from the shops, here are my top 10 picks:

  1. Crop Cable Sweater, from Witchery
  2. Farrah Turtleneck Cape, Witchery
  3. Merina Sequin Yoke Tee, Jeanswest
  4. Jordan Faux Fur Jacket, Forever New
  5. Simone Hooded Parka, Forever New
  6. Bianca Waisted Gilet, Forever New
  7. Lauren Belted Jacket, Forever New
  8. Hannah PomPom Beanie, Forever New
  9. Stephanie Boots, Forever New
  10. Tilly Peplum Dress, Forever New

As always, these images can all be found on my fashion board! The shopping picks are not affiliated with Forever New, nor was this post sponsored. All opinions are my own!

3 thoughts on “Winter Fashion Inspiration

Leave a comment