My Top 5 Beauty Products - My makeup routine is minimal and sometimes I don't wear it at all, but there are five key pieces in my collection that I couldn't live without.

My Top 5 Beauty Products

img_via_fashionmugging

As with most things in my life, my beauty routine is pretty minimal. I prefer not to wear a full face of makeup, and often will only make sure my brows are good and skip everything else. There are five pieces that I always make sure to have in case I want to wear makeup, and with themĀ I can either opt for something simple, or go full-face glamorous.


Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

luminous2bsilk2bfoundation2b005

Being so pale with a neutral/cool undertone means that most foundations are too dark and too orange for me. Combine that with dry skin and finding something that doesn’t look awful is really hard work! I have the Luminous Silk foundation in shade 2, and it looks incredible on my skin! It doesn’t have a very full coverage, and one layer gives you a very basic coverage but doesn’t conceal blemishes or uneven skin tone. However, it’s still a beautiful foundation and I probably won’t be swapping it out for a different one.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit

hourglass-cosmetics-ambient-lighting-edit-review-03

My fairness works against me with this palette as well, but I can find ways to make it work. The powders are generally too dark or warm for my skin, so I have to be very careful with how I combine them. I use this palette to set my face, and for blush and bronzer, and it brings such a gentle glow to my skin. It’s fairly easy to go overboard, so start off small and keep checking to make sure you’re not applying too much!

Chi Chi Brow Pomade in Medium Brown

CC_003_960x490_brow-pomade

 

I’m still really bad at using this, but I’m getting slightly better. I’ve used a pencil for years, and I decided to pick this up as a dupe for the Anastasia Beverly Hills one. The colour pay-off is incredible, and the medium brown shade is cool toned enough to work with my skin. You only have to use a tiny tap with this, so I’ve rocked extremely bold brows on several occasions.

Too Faced Natural Eyes Palette

4761137_too-faced-natural-eyes-palette_495a4e34_m

This is the only eyeshadow palette that I have, and I pretty much don’t use any of my old singles anymore. I bought the Natural Eyes palette because I needed something that could be casual for daytime and glam for the evening. It works really well for both, and I love that the tin package keeps everything safe when I’m travelling. I love using Silk Teddy by itself all over my lid for a simple and sparkly daytime look.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

maybelline-lash-sensational-review1

I’m not a big mascara wearer, but I find that my lashes are too thin to go without it if I’m wearing other eye makeup. The formula of the Lash Sensational is really smooth and nice, but like all mascaras it can get clumpy if you don’t apply it properly. I really like the bristles being plastic, it saves me from having stray fluff stick to the wand and fall into my eye. Now all I need to do is learn how to keep it off of my eyelid!


Minimal makeup routines are really good. I can have a full face done in about ten minutes if I go quickly, and I keep all my makeup in a small black box. I can throw the whole box into my luggage when I travel, tied up with a ribbon and with my brushes inside to fill any gaps. I do use a primer, but I haven’t found one that I would consider an essential item. Any suggestions?

hg-sig-winter-2016

Featured image is via Fashion Mugging.

One thought on “My Top 5 Beauty Products

Leave a Reply

