Summer Skin Care Routine - In the summer, your skin can get dirty and sweaty super fast. These are the products I use to get my skin feeling amazing!

Summer Skin Care Routine

Saving-Face-Thinkstock-134704472

New Zealand summers often get up to about 30ºC, so a good skin care regime is very important. I’ve only recently started taking care of my skin, and I’ve seen a lot of improvement! I still want to try out a few more things, and get a proper regime into place, but today I wanted to share with you my current favourite products for taking care of my skin during the summer.


2b8d33d3b65955fa58d97ffcddb7305c

Garnier Micellar Water

Micellar waters are popular for a reason, and that reason is how amazingly well they remove your makeup! I use this before my other products to remove the bulk of my face and eye makeup. I have found that if I use too much, it gets into my eyes and stings a little, but that doesn’t happen a lot. (Here)

clegacqwiaakpja

witch Cleansing and Toning wipes

These face wipes are absolutely incredible, and smell so good. They have witch hazel extract in them, which is a natural way to cleanse and sooth your skin. They’re recommended for oily/combination skin, but I have dry/normal skin and they work really well on me. They also don’t leave a residue and you get 25 in a packet. (Here)

1001081-w1000

Aveeno Positively Radiant Skin Brightening Scrub

This scrub is gentle enough to use daily, but I use it every second day because I have sensitive skin. Once a week, I like to use it with a facial cleansing brush to really get the dead skin off. I have been using it for a while, and I do think that my skin has gotten better with it, but I’ve decided to move it to just as a once-a-week item and trial a new face wash. (Here)

eauroma-375x375.jpg

LUSH Eau Roma Toner Water

A toner and hydrating mist in one, this toner water combines rose and lavender to hydrate and soften your skin! I love using this not only as a toner, but to spritz on my face when it’s hot and I need to cool down. Sometimes I even spray a bit over my pillow for the lavender scent. (Here)

timthumb

Nivea Soft moisturising cream

I use Nivea moisturisers pretty much religiously. They don’t irritate my skin, they work incredibly well, and they’re affordable too. I use this particular cream on super dry or sensitive areas, such as my elbows, under my arms if I get shave burn, and my feet and heels. I also have an odd dry patch of skin on my torso and I use it there as well. It hasn’t completely gone away, but it’s definitely better! (Here)

0182025_l

Nivea Q10 Plus Anti-Wrinkle eye cream

Confession: I stole this off my mum because she wasn’t using it, and I desperately needed an eye cream. I use this on no-makeup days as well as under my makeup to help brighten my very dark under eye circles. I don’t sleep especially well, and this product helps to keep my eye area hydrated and fresh. (Here)

nivea_light_moisturising_day_cream

Nivea Daily Essentials Light moisturising day cream

For a daily face moisturiser, this is my favourite. I have both the ‘light’ and the ‘rich’ ones, and both have SPF in them. The ‘rich’ one is very heavy and leaves my skin looking oily, so I’m using it up as a night cream. They’re both fairly heavily fragranced, but the ‘light’ one is perfect for me. It absorbs quickly and it doesn’t leave much of a slimy feel on my face. (Here)

dettol-profresh-body-wash-peach-burst-shower-gel

Dettol ProFresh Peach Burst shower gel

This is the first Dettol body product that I’ve tried, and I picked it because it has salicylic acid in it, which is good for clearing blemishes and softening skin. With how hot in gets in New Zealand, I prefer to have something that I know will wash the sweat and dirt off my skin and prevent any blemishes from forming. (Here)


Just a note on my skin type: I have dry and flaky skin in my t-zone, and normal skin on the rest of my face. I do suffer from blemishes and dry patches on occasion, and my skin is fairly sensitive. I am not a dermatologist, these are products that I use that I find work well for me.

If you have a reaction to something, stop using it! I always recommend that you try out a test patch somewhere safe before applying it to sensitive areas. Try a small dab on your wrist or inner thigh, and leave it for an hour or two to see if anything happens. I didn’t do that when I tried a product from the Body Shop, and I itched for the next day and a half.

house-of-grace-sans-signature-amy

Header image via Haute Health Mag.

 

Leave a Reply

