Reflect and Refocus: My Goals for 2015

In case you’re like me, and you completely lose track of time, we have reached the middle of the year. And what a year it’s been! For me, the two most important things that have happened so far would be launching this blog, and earning my diploma. There have been so many wonderful things that I’ve experienced this year, and I’m so grateful to have had the opportunities and support that I’ve gotten.

When I started 2015, I didn’t really have any goals in mind when it came to my business. I knew I wanted to launch my blog, and at some point to launch an e-design business, but other than that I just crossed my fingers and I learnt as I went. I’ve spent the past couple of days thinking about my life and where I want it to go, and come up with some new goals to hopefully achieve by the end of the year.

I use these great free printable worksheets from Kory Woodard to plan out my goals. They’re so simple and lovely, with a big goals for the year and monthly goals page, and then monthly and weekly progress sheets. At the moment, I’m only using the year + month page, and I have it up on my pinboard that I have sitting on my desk.


This month, I’d like to post my first portfolio project, which is just a simple decor guide to a townhouse and how I’d decorate it for myself. I’m also working on some other portfolio projects, such as an office space for the House of Grace, and my ultimate dream home. I’d love to share those as well, to showcase my skills and inspire my beautiful readers!

By the end of the year, I’d also like to have launched a proper website with professional branding. Unfortunately, I don’t have a lot of money, but what I do have is a branding inspiration board on Pinterest. I’d love for the blog to be more aligned with the spaces that I want to create: Simple, chic, feminine and sophisticated.

Another thing that I would like to achieve this year is to write a business plan, so that I can focus on creating wonderful content and engaging with people. When I started the House of Grace, it was with the idea that I could use my interior design skills to help women like me create a beautiful life. It can be hard to focus on making your home a lovely place to be in when you’re working or studying, and sometimes it’s harder to pull all your ideas together. It’s taken me a while, but now I’ve developed my own taste and it’s easier to refine ideas down to the true meaning. Nothing makes me happier than knowing the wonderful people I work with are coming home to a space that they adore being in.

I think my overall ultimate goal for 2015 is to accept my first client. I’ve been working on the Defining Your Why eCourse from With Grace and Gold, and it’s been so amazing in helping me narrow down my ideal client, and the reasons why I went into business to begin with. Hopefully soon, I’ll be able to understand a little more about what I’m offering, and be able to help my first person refine her life!

Lastly, I only have a few personal goals for this year. To focus on my health, and to renew my wardrobe. I’m one of those people who falls into the work-from-home trap of wearing comfy shorts and hoodies all the time. My sister has been super supportive of this, and is always encouraging me to work towards being a better person.


I’m so excited to have shared these past six months with you, and I’m only getting more excited for what’s to come. Here’s to a year of beautiful design, gorgeous styling, and dreams coming true!

PS: And to revealing that my name is not actually Vanessa, it’s Amy! Personal struggles made it hard for me to accept that being myself was good enough, but now I’m proud to share more of my life with you.

2 thoughts on “Reflect and Refocus: My Goals for 2015

Leave a Reply

