Delicious Brioche recipe from La Tartine Gourmande

brioche-et-the

I’m sure that I am not the only person who loves french toast, and is disappointed by the offerings that my regular kind of bread can produce. Not long ago, in a fit of desperate french toast craving, I took to search engines to find out how to make good – no, the best! – french toast, and came across a beautiful word: “brioche”. Although I haven’t yet had the chance to make some of my own, I can see why it would make such a good sponge for the vanilla eggy magnificence. And so I share with you today, this wonderful recipe from La Tartine Gourmande, a website filled with delicious and decadent treats.

what you will need:

  • 1 2/3 cups of all purpose flour
  • 2 3/4 oz butter, at room temperature
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 tbsp of dry bakers yeast
  • 2 tbsp of fine sugar
  • 1/3 cup of warm milk
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 egg yolk for the glaze

what you will do:

  1. In a bowl, mix the flour with the yeast. Make a hole in the middle.
  2. Add the warm milk, mixing with the tip of your fingers.
  3. Add the sugar and a pinch of salt, then add the soft butter, piece after piece, waiting each time that each piece is absorbed. (I am assuming that you mix the butter in, the instructions were unclear)
  4. One by one, add the eggs, mixing well between each. Work the dough until it is elastic and detaches from your fingers more easily.
  5. Cover and let rest in a warm place, away from drafts, until it doubles in size (about two hours)
  6. Work the dough again for ten minutes and divide it into four balls. Place them in a greased 10″ rectangular mold and cover. Let rise for an hour again.
  7. Preheat the oven at 200 C or 400 F.
  8. Brush the brioche with the egg yolk mixed with a dash of sugar. With a pair of scissors, make small cuts at the top of each ball.
  9. Place in the oven to bake for 10 minutes, then reduce the heat to 180 C/350 F and bake for about 20 to 30 minutes.
  10. Remove, unmold, and let cool on a rack.

I’m so excited to try out this recipe and fill my house with the delicious smell of baking bread. If it goes well, I may just have to bake a second loaf, slice it, and place it in my freezer so that I can take slices out whenever I get that french toast craving!

My dad is bringing my new desk over at some point today, so stay tuned for pictures later in the week!

2 thoughts on “Delicious Brioche recipe from La Tartine Gourmande

Leave a Reply

