Beauty and Skincare Favorites


If there’s one thing that I can’t get enough of reading about, it’s other people’s makeup and skincare practices. I have no idea why I love it so much, but I feel like it’s always an awesome thing to get a peek into how people treat their skin. This post will dip into a few of my hair, skincare, and makeup favorites so that you can get an idea of the kinds of stuff that I like to slap on my face. You just have to remember that not all products work for all people, but it’s always really fun trying out new things to figure out what works for you!

My skincare philosophy

I have quite dry skin. And I mean, if I don’t moisturize every day (sometimes even twice) my skin starts flaking and looking awful, especially around my nose and forehead. I also suffer from acne, so I have to be careful about what products I apply to my face. I use Lush skincare, because it contains less chemicals and is more gentle than a lot of other products out there, and I try to avoid using too much face makeup, so that I can easily keep my skin fresh and hydrated.

products i recommend

VO5 Miracle Mist– This is a spray leave-in conditioner, which I use to try and maintain my frizzy cloud of ringlets. I put it in with my heat protector and split end serum before I blow-dry my hair, and it smells really nice.

Lush Ultrabland Cleanser– One word: Beeswax. This is a lovely scented, gentle and natural cleanser. It is quite waxy, so you do have to wipe it off with a face cloth, but it makes my skin feel really clean without drying it out. Bonus – it easily removes your makeup!

Lush Eau Roma Water– I usually hate lavender, but in this toner spray it’s really nice. Even if I haven’t washed my face that day, I like to spritz a bit on and then gently wipe it off with a cotton pad to give my face a bit of moisture.

Lush Celestial Moisturizer– I use this everywhere. If I could bathe in it, I would. It can feel a little oily, but it’s so hydrating and silky. I keep it on my nightstand so that I can use it whenever my skin feels a little dry, and it’s great to slather on at night for a deep moisturize.

Hurraw Balm– Hurraw is an organic, vegan, raw lip balm that is absolutely amazing. I mostly use the Moon Balm, to stop my lips drying out overnight, and the Sun Balm to hydrate them during the day (plus protect – it has SPF in it!). They have some amazing flavors, which is good because you’re going to want to lick it off.

Rimmel Lash Accelerator– I adore this mascara. It’s an amazing formula, and it only takes about two coats to get a decent coverage. I do sweep through with a spoolie after applying it to separate my lashes, but the wand that comes with it is still amazing.

Revlon Photoready Primer– Like I said earlier, I try to avoid a lot of face makeup, so on days where I feel like I need a tiny bit of a skin boost, I just put on some primer. It evens out your skin tone and basically just makes your skin look fresh and smooth.

Revlon Colorstay Finishing Powder– If I do wear makeup, or sometimes just even over the primer, I like to use this finishing powder to just set everything and help mattify. The formula is really gentle and silky, and it’s a translucent powder so it doesn’t give you more color on top of what’s already there.

My skincare and makeup routine

I have to admit that I can be really slack about taking care of my skin. I tend to only wash my face once a week if I remember to do it. I don’t even splash water on it to give it a quick clean! It helps that I’m not out and about in the town, getting road dust and pollution things all over me, but I still think I need to step it up a little bit. I also don’t wear makeup most of the time. I only tend to apply it in small doses if I’m leaving the house, and sometimes that means I’ll tidy up my eyebrows and leave the rest of my face bare.

When I do actually give my face a good clean, I start with my Ultrabland, which I use in the shower. The steam helps heat up the beeswax so that it goes on smoother. After that, depending on how much time I have and how lazy I’m feeling, I’ll either go straight on to toner and moisturizer, or I’ll use a clay mask to help with exfoliation and other things that clay is supposed to help with (people say it’s good for your skin, but I mostly just enjoy the way it dries out and I can pretend I’m a dirt person). I always finish off with a good layer of moisturizer to stop my skin from drying out.

My usual first makeup step is my eyebrows. I have a condition which means I pull them out, so I’ve gotten pretty good at using a brow pencil to fill them in. After that, it all depends on whether I’m feeling like dolling up or whether we’re just popping down to the shops quickly and I want to feel simple. If I doll up, I use a crayon-type eyeliner to line my upper waterline. I follow with the ELF eyelid primer, and usually a light pink, plum, or brown eye shadow to give my lids a bit of sparkle. Then I use a felt liquid eyeliner to give myself a nice cat eye, and finish off with my Rimmel mascara to give my lashes a bit of extra length.

Building skill: Recommended resources

I think my favorite thing about the makeup world these days is how easy it is to find a guide on YouTube. No matter what your skin tone and type is or what country you’re from, there’s always someone who does tutorials to help you out with learning everything from basics, to really extreme and cool looks!

I have three very special favorite gurus on YouTube, ones that I always find myself going back to time and again:

YouTube tutorials are always great for getting a routine in place, and learning how to perfect your skills so that you can get ready faster! Don’t forget to check out my beauty board on Pinterest for some great makeup, hair and nail tips!

Tell me all about your skin and makeup routine. Is it simple, or is it a complex fine-tuned process?

The image used for this post was found on SheerLuxe.com. This is not a sponsored post, nor did I receive any product samples to recommend. All thoughts and opinions are my own! 

3 thoughts on “Beauty and Skincare Favorites

  1. Super interesting post. I can definitely relate because it sounds like we have kind of similar skin types. That picture is just absolute eye-candy for me haha, it’s so pretty! :) I just followed your blog and really love the look of it! Please check out and follow mine, it would mean a lot :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

