Two for two – in honor of my godson

Today is my godson’s second birthday. I wasn’t able to spend time with him and his family, but I sent love to him all day and made sure his mom gave him lots of hugs and kisses from me. In honor of his birthday, I’d like to give some advice out to the world – maybe one day it will help him, or maybe today it will help someone else.

1. It is okay to take time figuring out who you are.

It took me until my 21st year on this earth to figure out who I wanted to be, and what I wanted with my life. I spent so much time thinking about other peoples requirements and what they wanted me to be, or trying to do something that was easy but wasn’t something that I was satisfied by doing. I felt a lot of pressure on me for a lot of my life. I was only in middle school when people started telling me that I needed to figure out what I wanted to do with my life, and I had no idea. The only thing that I knew was right for me is that the traditional school system didn’t work, and unfortunately that same system failed to support me. But eventually, as I grew older, I came to understand that my path wasn’t wrong – a lot of other people had done and were doing the same things that I was. I hadn’t ruined my life or made a giant mistake, I was simply travelling a different road! That road lead me to where I am today. A godmother to one beautiful boy (and soon to another!!), a qualified interior designer, and someone who is completely unashamed of the person she is and the future she wants.

2. Once you find something that makes you happy, remember to enjoy it.

A lot of the time, people will tell you that the things you enjoy have no value. This isn’t really their fault, the media and society have imprinted on us that placing enjoyment over traditional living is the wrong thing to do, and we’ll end up homeless and starving. As my generation enters the adult workforce, we are flooded with messages that contradict the things that we were taught all of our lives. This is a good thing, because these messages come from the people who shape our futures and our actions. Successful people are telling us to pick something that makes us happy, rather than the boring 9-5 that puts the same food on the table. Trust me, food tastes better when you’re suited to your life. So find the things that make you happy, even if that thing is heavy metal Taylor Swift covers, and hold them tight. Enjoy them. These are the things that make us who we are – and you’re pretty fantastic.

It’s been both a long journey and a short time since my godson was born, and I’m grateful for every minute of it. I hope that this year is as fun and exciting as the last, and that he spends as much time as possible laughing, smiling, and being surrounded by love!

Love, Vanessa.

What are the two best pieces of advice that you’d like to offer the world?

Leave a Reply

