Happiness Jar DIY tutorial

Hi lovelies!

For my first tutorial of 2015, I want to share with you something that has been very important to me over the past couple of years – a happiness jar. Some people call it a dream jar, or a wishes jar, but I had the sticker letters for “Happy” so that’s what I went for. In this post, I’ll be talking about how I assembled my jar, and some of the things I include in it.

Here is a picture of my jar, and here is a picture of all of my happiness stars from 2013!

Things you will need to make your happiness jar:

  • A cute jar, big enough to fit in a whole year of happy! Pick one that looks good with your decor, and is easy to fill and to empty. Mine has a flat surface perfect for ingredient two:
  • Stickers! I nabbed some white glittery letter stickers from The Warehouse, and used those to label my jar with the word “HAPPY” and a little star
  • Ribbon. I have ribbon tied around the neck of the jar. It used to be tied in an adorable bow, but bows tend to be eaten by cats.
  • Other decorative elements. On my jar, I have two bracelets and a ring. The first bracelet is a cute shell one that was given to me by my best friend, and the second is a simple gold one that I received after my nana passed away, and it has her signet ring on it. These are things that make me happy when I look at them, which is perfect for a happiness jar!

Make sure that your jar is clean before doing anything with it, otherwise your paper might get dirty!

To fill my happiness jar, I’ve pre-cut strips of patterned scrapbook paper to the size I need for origami lucky stars. There is a great tutorial here on Origami Instructions to make them. Lucky stars look incredibly pretty filling up the jar, and once you’ve made a couple it becomes so easy to make them! They’re the perfect size for writing down the date and a quick note on what made you happy.

Before you know it, you’ll fill up a whole jar! I’ve loved having a happiness jar for the past few years, as it means that whenever I’m having a bad day, I can just look over at it and see all the little stars and remember that my year has been pretty great after all. I already have two stars in for 2015 and I’m looking forward to making many more happy memories in the coming year.

Here are some examples of happiness jars that I found on the web

(Click on the images to see the original posts!)

happiness jar positivity happy
gorgeously bright from positively present
happiness jar positivity happy
this one from weheartit is labeled with the year
happiness jar positivity happy
this one from fabfitfun has some great colors
happiness jar positivity happy
the original source appears to have vanished!
happiness jar positivity happy
adorable one from harvard homemaker

I hope you’re inspired to make your own happiness jar, and fill it with lots of memories in 2015!

Love, Vanessa.

What makes you happy? How do you record the small things so that you can remember them later? Tell me your happiest memory in the comments below!

One thought on “Happiness Jar DIY tutorial

Leave a Reply

