2015 Resolutions

Like many people, I write a list of resolutions every year. This year, I used this template that I found on Hitha On The Go, and tweaked it a bit to fit in some of my outlying goals.

Here are my resolutions for this year.

A bad habit I’m going to break: Trichotillomania, colloquially known as Trich. This is an obsessive compulsive disorder that is characterised by pulling out ones own hair, most commonly from the head (hair, eyebrows, eyelashes). I have had Trich for quite a few years now, and 2015 is going to be the year where I focus on cutting back on the disorder and letting my eyebrows grow back in. I’ll keep you updated on my progress!

A language I want to learn: By the end of the year, I hope to be conversational in Russian. Russian is an absolutely beautiful language. I have a fascination with Slavic and Nordic history, and am very excited to be learning Russian.

A person I hope to be more like: The me I like to imagine when I have pretend conversations and interviews! I’m sure I’m not the only one who does this, and I really enjoy picturing myself in my future. I am going to work to be more like her, to create her and have that image come true.

A place I’d like to visit: Australia! Specifically, Bondi beach in Sydney and the Brisbane Forever New flagship store. I’m a bit wary of all the lizards and the snakes and the spiders, but the beaches and shopping is calling my name!

A book I’d like to read: #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso. I’ve heard such amazing things about this book, and I’m wholeheartedly looking forward to purchasing it and reading all about Sophia Amoruso’s story to success.

A letter I’d like to write: A time capsule to myself to read in five years. I’d love to be able to look back and inspire myself to keep advancing in my life. Hopefully, five years from now I will still be blogging and running a business, and just as passionate as I am today.

A new food to try: I’m very excited to try more paleo diet recipes this year. I’ve promised to take control of my health and fitness this year and I’ve heard wonderful things about the paleo diet. Pizza may be my weakness, but I intend to live a long and healthy life, and this may just be the first step.

A new skill I’d like to learn: I would love to learn how to drive. I currently have my learners license, but I haven’t been able to learn how to drive yet due to my mom working all the time and having no one else to teach me. We are starting with mini lessons, like getting me comfortable with the handbrake and the control that changes things from reverse to park to drive. I’m very excited to be able to visit my sisters and the nearby town for – you guessed it – shopping!!

A qualification to learn: Tying into my previous resolution, I aim to achieve my restricted drivers license by the end of the year. For those of you who don’t live in New Zealand, this is the license between learners and full, where you can drive without a supervisor, but not with passengers, and you can only drive between the hours of 5am and 10pm.

A social anxiety improvement: I suffer quite badly from social anxiety, but after having been on medication for a year, my life has improved so much. By the end of this year, I hope to be in at least part-time work, or work experience. I am very excited for the opportunities this will give me, and all of the things I will learn.

That’s it for my 2015 resolutions. I hope you enjoyed reading them as much as I’ve enjoyed coming up with them, and I promise I’ll keep you updated as the year progresses!

Love, Vanessa.

What are your resolutions for this year? Have you written any? My fingers are crossed that this year, you and I will achieve all of our hopes and dreams! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

